Sites / Deep Green Bradford
Deep Green Bradford
Deep Green · proposed · City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
5.6 megawatt heat-reusing facility at Listerhills / Thornton Road. News reports say Bradford Council approved it in May 2026. We still list it as proposed until we can link the live council planning page.
Stated size
6 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Deep Green press materials / BBC reporting
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
1 acres
active industrial Operator
What was here: Land east of Bradford Energy Centre (temporary contractor/storage area under energy-centre consent)
Water
Zero
litres/year · operator claim Operator
Deep Green claims cooling eliminates water use. That is their claim, not a metered reading.
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
1,867 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
1,867 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 5.6 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
7,268-12,718 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
7,268-12,718 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 5.6 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): 5% of Middlesbrough to 9% of Middlesbrough
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 5-9% of Middlesbrough's annual electricity (the smallest council area listed)
20-34 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 5.6 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Water: Operator claims zero water use (closed-loop cooling; not independently verified)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
- Recorded as 0 litres/year because the operator claims water use is eliminated.
- This is a stated claim, not a metered figure.
- Site area: 0.5 football pitches
Cooling
Closed-loop cooling; up to 95% of heat reused into Bradford Energy Network; zero water use claimed Operator
Claims on record
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: operator claims zero; no volume published and no independent check
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-07: Deep Green files for Bradford heat-reuse data centre beside Bradford Energy Centre
- 2026-05: News reports: Bradford Council grants planning approval (live council page link still to confirm)
Sources
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude -1.777, latitude 53.793. Last reviewed 2026-07-15.