Compare power
How large is each proposal’s stated power size relative to the others? Circles use true area scale (twice the megawatts looks twice as large). Figures are stated power size on paper, not how much electricity a site will draw day to day.
How to read
Colour = planning status
- Proposed
- In planning
- Approved
- Building
- Operating
Outline = size disclosed
- Solid: megawatts published (area ∝ MW)
- Dashed: megawatts unknown; sized by site area
Grey demos are style only, not a status colour.
Stated size disclosed (by megawatts)
Sorted by each site’s published power size: biggest size stated for that site if recorded, otherwise grid connection applied for, otherwise first stage only. Equal megawatt figures share a rank (joint largest) and are listed A-Z. Circle area matches megawatts; colour is status, same as the map.
- 1Elsham Tech Parkin planning1,000 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 2Humber Tech Parkapproved384 MW · IT equipment only
- 3Wilton International data centre (Phase 1)proposed280 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 4Drax data centreproposed100 MW · first stage only
- 5Latos Preston Farm (Stockton)proposed9.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 6Deep Green Bradfordproposed5.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site
Megawatts not disclosed
These sites have no public megawatt figure. Dashed circles use site area when known; if area is also unknown, the marker is location only. Do not read them as size against the list above.
- Teesworks data centre campusapproved115 acres · power not disclosed
- Microsoft Skelton Grangeproposed48 acres · power not disclosed
- Mountpark Ferrybridge (data-centre plot)proposed40 acres · power not disclosed
- Microsoft EggboroughproposedSite area and power not disclosed
- aql Leeds data centresoperatingSite area and power not disclosed