Sites / Elsham Tech Park
Elsham Tech Park
Elsham Tech Park Ltd · in planning · North Lincolnshire Council
Outline application for up to 1 gigawatt of computing equipment power across up to 15 data halls on about 435 acres of agricultural land, including a large share of best and most versatile farmland. The planning committee was minded to approve in March 2026, but the council portal still records no decision issued (checked 2026-07-15); we list the site as in planning until the decision notice appears. A recommended condition caps non-domestic water at 20 m³ a day for each business on site, subject to an approved cooling strategy (committee report PA/2025/643); no annual total is published.
Stated size
1,000 MW
biggest size stated for this site Planning
Source: North Lincolnshire Council planning committee report PA/2025/643 (committee report — up to 1 GW / 1,000 MW IT load)
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
435 acres
farmland Planning
What was here: Agricultural fields (former airfield landscape influences); adjacent Elsham Wolds Industrial Estate
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
333,333 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
333,333 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 1000 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · planning doc
-
1,297,778-2,271,111 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
1,297,778-2,271,111 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 1000 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): Middlesbrough + 5 further authorities (to Barnsley) to Middlesbrough + 8 further authorities (to Kingston upon Hull)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: between Middlesbrough + 5 further authorities (to Barnsley) and Middlesbrough + 8 further authorities (to Kingston upon Hull) (annual electricity)
3,504-6,132 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 1000 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 247.2 football pitches
-
Wheat foregone (Agricultural Land Classification supports a yield comparison):
998-1,425 tonnes/year
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
- Best and most versatile farmland (grades 1, 2 and 3a) only: 142.5 hectares of the 435-acre site.
- Yield 7-10 tonnes per hectare (indicative; not a site soil survey).
- Only shown where Agricultural Land Classification grades include best and most versatile farmland supporting a yield comparison.
Agricultural Land Classification grades on site: Grade 1: 33.4 ha; Grade 2: 49.2 ha; Grade 3a: 59.9 ha; Grade 3b: 25.2 ha; non-agricultural: 12 ha (PA/2025/643 committee report). Note: grades sum to 179.7 ha against a stated site of ~176 ha — reconcile against the committee report.
Grid connection
On-site energy centre parameter up to ~49.9 MW; electricity substations and undergrounding of overhead lines listed in the outline description. Full grid-connection MW for the campus not itemised as a single figure in sources reviewed. Planning
- New substation: yes
- Overhead line upgrades: yes / mentioned
Claims on record
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-05: Outline planning application PA/2025/643 submitted
- 2026-03-11: North Lincolnshire Council planning committee minded to approve outline permission
Controversies / contested procedure
Permanent loss of over 430 acres of productive farmland raised in objections; land classification records show substantial best and most versatile farmland
Source: PA/2025/643 committee report (representations and ALC sections)
Sources
- North Lincolnshire planning portal — PA/2025/643
- Committee report PA/2025/643 (Modern.gov PDF)
- BBC — outline approval
Planning application PA/2025/643: live portal
Map point: longitude -0.445, latitude 53.604. Last reviewed 2026-07-15.