Sites / Wilton International data centre (Phase 1)
Wilton International data centre (Phase 1)
Sembcorp Energy UK / Digital Reef · proposed · Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
Phase 1 campus of up to three air-cooled data halls at Wilton International industrial park, Teesside. Joint development by Sembcorp Energy UK and Digital Reef. Public materials state up to 280 megawatts. Live Redcar portal page is EIA screening R/2026/0183/SC (decision: EIA not required, Apr 2026). Trade press reports a full planning application and May 2026 consultation, but Display R/2026/0183/FF currently redirects to the portal home, so status stays proposed until a resolving full-application URL is linked.
Stated size
280 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Sembcorp Energy UK / Digital Reef Phase 1 Wilton International stated capacity (up to 280 MW); later phases not yet documented here
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
38 acres
active industrial Planning
What was here: Wilton International industrial park (brownfield / industrial)
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
93,333 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
93,333 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 280 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
363,378-635,911 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
363,378-635,911 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 280 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): Middlesbrough + 1 further authority (to North East Lincolnshire) to Middlesbrough + 2 further authorities (to Calderdale)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: between Middlesbrough + 1 further authority (to North East Lincolnshire) and Middlesbrough + 2 further authorities (to Calderdale) (annual electricity)
981-1,717 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 280 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 21.6 football pitches
Grid connection
Press and applicant materials cite existing large grid / private-wire capacity at Wilton and Greystones Substation supply for Phase 1. A single campus grid-connection megawatt figure beyond the 280 MW scheme size is not itemised in sources reviewed. Operator
- New substation: not stated
- Overhead line upgrades: not stated
Cooling
Air-cooled campus stated in application materials reported by the trade press Operator
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-07: Sembcorp reported acquiring the Wilton land parcel (trade press)
- 2026-04-01: EIA screening opinion: EIA not required for Wilton data centre / ancillary infrastructure (R/2026/0183/SC)
- 2026-05: Sembcorp / Digital Reef announce Phase 1 (up to 280 MW) and state a planning application / consultation is underway (portal full-app Display URL not yet resolving)
Sources
- Redcar and Cleveland planning: R/2026/0183/SC (EIA screening)
- DCD: Sembcorp 280 MW Wilton application
- Place North East: Sembcorp / Digital Reef Wilton plans
Planning application R/2026/0183/SC: live portal
Map point: longitude -1.145, latitude 54.575. Last reviewed 2026-07-15.