Sites / Teesworks data centre campus
Teesworks data centre campus
Teesworks Limited / South Tees Group · approved · Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
Reserved-matters approval (August 2025) for a data-centre campus extending over about 462,419 m² (≈115 acres — the site extent as reported, not a floorspace figure) on the former Redcar sinter plant / Foundry land within Teesworks, pursuant to outline permission R/2020/0821/ESM. Megawatt capacity is not disclosed in the officer report reviewed so far. The scheme competed for land with BP’s H2Teesside hydrogen proposal; BP formally withdrew H2Teesside in December 2025.
Stated size
Not disclosed
No megawatt figure in materials reviewed
Operators often omit a megawatt figure. Map circles then use site area instead. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
115 acres
ex-industrial / brownfield Operator
What was here: Former Redcar sinter plant / Teesworks Foundry outline site (ex-steelworks)
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 65.3 football pitches
Grid connection
Substation and battery stores listed in the reserved-matters description. A campus megawatt figure is not stated in the officer report reviewed; consultees noted power requirements may need fuller assessment. Planning
- New substation: yes
- Overhead line upgrades: not stated
Claims on record
-
“Discussions with a prospective occupier; data centre framed as critical national infrastructure in STG representations”
South Tees Group / Teesworks (reported) · 2025-06 · status: unverified
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): not disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2022-03: Outline permission R/2020/0821/ESM for Foundry B2/B8/E floorspace
- 2025-02: Reserved matters for access road / security cabin approved (R/2024/0820/ESM)
- 2025-08-01: Reserved matters approved for data-centre campus R/2025/0382/ESM (appearance, landscaping, layout, access, scale)
- 2025-12: BP formally withdraws the H2Teesside development consent order bid, citing material changes at Teesworks; ends the land conflict with the data-centre scheme
Controversies / contested procedure
Land conflict with BP H2Teesside hydrogen DCO proposals on overlapping Teesworks land; both framed as nationally significant. Resolved December 2025 when BP formally withdrew H2Teesside
Sources
- Redcar and Cleveland planning: R/2025/0382/ESM
- Gazette Live: reserved matters granted amid BP objection
- BBC: Teesworks data centre vs H2Teesside
Planning application R/2025/0382/ESM: live portal
Map point: longitude -1.145, latitude 54.61. Last reviewed 2026-07-15.