Sites / Latos Preston Farm (Stockton)
Latos Preston Farm (Stockton)
Latos Data Centres · proposed · Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Neural-edge AI data centre of about 9.5 MW IT capacity at Preston Farm Industrial Estate (near Westland Way), Stockton-on-Tees. Operator and local press reported full planning approval in September 2025 for two data halls (~1,750 m²) aiming to open early 2027. Listed as proposed until a live Stockton Public Access case page can be linked.
Stated size
10 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Latos materials describing Stockton Preston Farm IT capacity (up to 9.5 MW)
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
active industrial
What was here: Preston Farm Industrial Estate (Westland Way area, Stockton / Thornaby)
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
3,167 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
3,167 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 9.5 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
12,329-21,576 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
12,329-21,576 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 9.5 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): 8% of Middlesbrough to 14% of Middlesbrough
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 8-14% of Middlesbrough's annual electricity (the smallest council area listed)
33-58 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 9.5 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-06: Planning application for Preston Farm neural-edge data centre reported filed (exact Stockton ref still to confirm)
- 2025-09: Operator and local press: Stockton Council grants full planning approval; construction aimed later 2025 / operations early 2027 (live portal URL still missing)
Sources
- Latos: Stockton approval announcement
- Latos: Built for the AI Edge (9.5 MW IT capacity)
- Teesside Live: £100m Stockton data centre approved
- DCD: Latos Edge AI approval near Middlesbrough
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude -1.33, latitude 54.55. Last reviewed 2026-07-15.