Sites / Humber Tech Park
Humber Tech Park
Humber Tech Park Ltd · approved · North Lincolnshire Council
Outline permission for up to three data-centre buildings with up to 384 MW of IT load (about 309,000 m² of floorspace) on land south of the A160, South Killingholme. Trade press reported 386 MW; the planning statement says 384 MW. Shares directors with Elsham Tech Park Ltd; Greystoke Land links reported.
Stated size
384 MW
IT equipment only Planning
Source: https://www.humbertechpark.com/_files/ugd/3dd663_993ebfa9537649b787c55d32ef55b587.pdf (Planning Statement: up to three data-centre buildings capable of 384MW of IT load)
Power for the computers alone, as written in planning materials. Still a stated size, not metered use. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
188 acres
farmland Planning
What was here: Greenfield / undeveloped land south of the A160
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
128,000 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
128,000 kettles running at once (at IT equipment only; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 384 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: IT equipment only · planning doc
-
498,347-872,107 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
498,347-872,107 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses IT equipment only = 384 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): Middlesbrough + 2 further authorities (to Calderdale) to Middlesbrough + 3 further authorities (to York)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: between Middlesbrough + 2 further authorities (to Calderdale) and Middlesbrough + 3 further authorities (to York) (annual electricity)
1,346-2,355 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses IT equipment only = 384 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 106.8 football pitches
Grid connection
Electricity substation included in outline description. Planning
- New substation: yes
- Overhead line upgrades: not stated
Claims on record
-
“Up to £3 billion foreign direct investment”
Humber Tech Park · status: unverified
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2024-08: North Lincolnshire Council grants outline planning permission (PA/2024/584)
Sources
- North Lincolnshire planning portal — PA/2024/584
- Humber Tech Park project site
- DCD — outline permission report
Planning application PA/2024/584: live portal
Map point: longitude -0.255, latitude 53.643. Last reviewed 2026-07-15.