Sites / Abbots Langley data centre (Bedmond Road)
Abbots Langley data centre (Bedmond Road)
Greystoke Land · approved · Three Rivers District Council
Hyperscale campus of up to 84,000 m² across two buildings off Bedmond Road, Abbots Langley, plus a country park. The decision cites 96 MW of data centre capacity on a site of about 31 ha. Secretary of State recovered appeal allowed 12 May 2025.
Stated size
96 MW
biggest size stated for this site Planning
Source: https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/6821f977c66deec8488f7f42/Recovered_appeal_-_land_off_Bedmond_Road__Abbots_Langley.pdf (Decision: the provision of 96 MW of data centre capacity)
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
32,000 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
32,000 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 96 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · planning doc
-
124,587-218,027 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
124,587-218,027 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 96 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 0.6-1.0× Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 0.6-1.0× Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
336-589 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 96 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 43.5 football pitches
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-05-12: Secretary of State allows recovered appeal 3346061
Controversies / contested procedure
Three Rivers refused; Green Belt / grey-belt dispute at recovered appeal
Sources
Planning application 3346061: live portal
Map point: longitude -0.414, latitude 51.706. Last reviewed 2026-10-05.