Compare power
How large is each proposal’s claimed draw on the grid relative to the others? Circles use true area scale (twice the megawatts looks twice as large). Figures are stated power size on paper, not how much electricity a site will draw day to day.
How to read
Colour = planning status
- Proposed
- In planning
- Approved
- Building
- Operating
- Decommissioned
Outline = size disclosed
- Solid: megawatts published (area ∝ MW)
- Dashed: megawatts unknown; sized by site area
Grey demos are style only, not a status colour.
Stated size disclosed (by megawatts)
Sorted by each site’s published power size: biggest size stated for that site if recorded, otherwise grid connection applied for, otherwise first stage only. Equal megawatt figures share a rank (joint largest) and are listed A-Z. Circle area matches megawatts; colour is status, same as the map.
- 1Digital Reef 'London Data Freeport' (East Havering)proposed600 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 2Equinix Hertfordshire Campus (South Mimms)proposed (reported consented)250 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 3Ada Infrastructure Docklands campusproposed (reported under construction)210 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 4Ark Elstree campus (former Mercure Hotel)proposed200 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 5CorScale Iver (Court Lane)approved103 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 6Yondr London campus (Slough)operating100 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 7Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (expansion)proposed (reported consented)97 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 8Abbots Langley data centre (Bedmond Road)approved96 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 9CyrusOne LON6 (Iver Heath)proposed (reported consented)90 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 10Manor Farm data centre (Poyle Road)approved72 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 11Pure DC Brent Cross (LON01, Building 2)proposed (reported under construction)70 MW · IT equipment only
- 12Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (existing campus)operating63 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 13Pure DC / SEGRO Premier Park (Park Royal)proposed (reported consented)56 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 14Vantage London I (LHR1, PowerGate)operating55 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 15Global Switch London Eastoperating45 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 16GTR GB One (Slough)operating40.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 17Global Switch London Southproposed (reported consented)40 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 18Kao Data KLON-04 (Harlow)proposed36 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 19Telehouse West Two (Docklands)proposed (reported under construction)33 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 20VIRTUS LONDON19 (Slough)operating32.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 21NTT London 1 (Dagenham)operating32 MW · first stage only
- 22Equinix LD14 (Slough)proposed (reported under construction)30 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 23VIRTUS LONDON7 (Stockley Park)operating28 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 24=Iron Mountain LON-2 (Slough)operating27 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 24=VIRTUS LONDON4 (Slough)operating27 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 26=Equinix LD5 (Slough)operating25 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 26=Iron Mountain LON-3 (Slough)proposed (reported under construction)25 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 28=VIRTUS LONDON5 (Stockley Park)operating24 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 28=VIRTUS LONDON9 (Slough)operating24 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 30VIRTUS LONDON14 (Stockley Park)operating22 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 31VIRTUS LONDON12 (Slough)operating21 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 32=NTT Hemel Hempstead 3 (HH3)operating20 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 32=Pure DC Brent Cross (LON01, Building 1)operating20 MW · IT equipment only
- 32=Vantage London II (LHR2, Park Royal)operating20 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 35=CyrusOne LON4 (Slough)operating18 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 35=CyrusOne LON5 (Slough)operating18 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 35=Digital Realty LGW15 (Crawley Unit 1)operating18 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 35=Global Switch London Northoperating18 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 35=Telehouse South (Blackwall Yard)operating18 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 35=VIRTUS LONDON8 (Stockley Park)operating18 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 41Kao Data KLON-03 (Harlow)proposed (reported under construction)17.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 42=Digital Realty LGW16 (Crawley Unit 2)operating16 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 42=Equinix LD4 (Slough)operating16 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 42=Equinix LD6 (Slough)operating16 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 42=Telehouse North Two (Docklands)operating16 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 42=VIRTUS LONDON6 (Stockley Park)operating16 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 47CyrusOne LON2 (West Drayton)operating13.9 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 48VIRTUS LONDON11 (Slough)operating13 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 49NTT Hemel Hempstead 4 (HH4)operating12 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 50=Serverfarm LON1 (Feltham)operating11.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 50=VIRTUS LONDON2 (Hayes)operating11.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 52=CyrusOne LON3 (Slough)operating9 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 52=Equinix LD10 (Slough)operating9 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 52=Equinix LD13x (Slough)operating9 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 55=Kao Data KLON-01 (Harlow)operating8.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 55=Kao Data KLON-02 (Harlow)operating8.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 57CyrusOne LON1 (Slough)operating8.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 58Iron Mountain LON-1 (Slough)operating8.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 59Digital Realty LON1 (Hanbury Street)operating8 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 60VIRTUS LONDON3 (Slough)operating7.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 61VIRTUS LONDON10 (Slough)operating6.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 62NTT Hemel Hempstead 2 (HH2)operating6.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 63VIRTUS LONDON1 (Enfield)operating4.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 64Truman Brewery data centre (Grey Eagle Street)approved4 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 65NTT Slough 3 (SL3)operating2.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 66Digital Realty Oliver's Yard (LHR18)operating2.3 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 67NTT Hemel Hempstead 1 (HH1)operating2 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 68NTT Slough 2 (SL2)operating1.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 69Pulsant Croydon LN-1operating1.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site
- 70Netwise London Central (Bermondsey)decommissioned0.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site
Megawatts not disclosed
These sites have no public megawatt figure. Dashed circles use site area when known; if area is also unknown, the marker is location only. Do not read them as size against the list above.
- Thurrock data centre (Arena Essex)in planning128 acres · power not disclosed
- Google Waltham Cross data centreoperating33 acres · power not disclosed
- SEGRO Iver (Thorney Business Park)proposed (reported consented)20 acres · power not disclosed
- CyrusOne LON7 / Honey Monster site (Southall)in planning17 acres · power not disclosed
- Equinix Wexham Road (former AkzoNobel paint factory)proposed (reported consented)12 acres · power not disclosed
- Bidder Street data centre (Canning Town)in planningSite area and power not disclosed
- Digital Realty Slough campusoperatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Equinix LD8 (Harbour Exchange)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Equinix LD9 (Powergate)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Telehouse West (Docklands)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Digital Realty Docklands (Harbour Exchange)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Equinix LD7 (Slough)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Telehouse East (Docklands)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Digital Realty LGW14 (Woking)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Microsoft Park Royal data centreproposed (reported under construction)Site area and power not disclosed
- Greystoke Woodlands Park data centre (Iver)approvedSite area and power not disclosed
- Telehouse North (Docklands)operatingSite area and power not disclosed
- Equinix LD11x (Slough)operatingSite area and power not disclosed