Sites / Equinix LD14 (Slough)
Equinix LD14 (Slough)
Equinix · proposed (reported under construction) · Slough Borough Council
Part of the Equinix Slough campus.
New five-storey ~15,100 m² data centre at 9–13 Banbury Avenue, Slough Trading Estate (adjacent to the existing LD7 building), on a site of just under a hectare. Slough Borough Council granted detailed approval in May 2024; the scheme is about 30 MW (two data halls per floor, 13× 2.8 MW standby generators). Construction ran from Dec 2024 with completion reported for ~Sept 2026. Held at proposed with operational_reality under_construction until a lasting Slough Public Access URL is linked (Slough's portal is currently unreachable). Part of the Equinix Slough campus.
Stated size
30 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: DCD: Equinix LD14 Slough — 30 MW+ data centre
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
2 acres
active industrial Operator
What was here: Single-storey commercial building (to be demolished)
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
10,000 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
10,000 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 30 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
38,933-68,133 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
38,933-68,133 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 30 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 18-32% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 18-32% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
105-184 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 30 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 1.3 football pitches
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2024-05: Slough Borough Council grants detailed approval for LD14 (30 MW, Banbury Avenue)
- 2024-12: Construction start (reported completion ~Sept 2026)
Sources
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude -0.6341, latitude 51.526. Last reviewed 2026-08-09.