Research
Evidence-protocol status for every mapped site, generated from the live dataset (so it never drifts from the map). Rows without a resolving planning URL are listed first — that is the outstanding work. This is not a census of every rack in London; see what we include.
Site checklist
✓ the site's evidence resolves (a planning application or decision URL, or an operator/third-party record for operating and closed sites); ○ it still needs a resolving source. Largest schemes first.
| Status | Site | Ref | Portal | Stated size | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ○ outstanding | Digital Reef 'London Data Freeport' (East Havering) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 600 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ○ outstanding | Equinix Hertfordshire Campus (South Mimms) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 250 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ○ outstanding | Ada Infrastructure Docklands campus | 24/02660/REM | Reference only; no lasting URL | 210 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ○ outstanding | Ark Elstree campus (former Mercure Hotel) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 200 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | CorScale Iver (Court Lane) | 3337981 | GOV.UK | 103 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Approved; application linked. |
| ✓ sourced | Yondr London campus (Slough) | — | — | 100 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ○ outstanding | Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (expansion) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 97 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | Abbots Langley data centre (Bedmond Road) | 3346061 | GOV.UK | 96 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Approved; application linked. |
| ○ outstanding | CyrusOne LON6 (Iver Heath) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 90 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | Manor Farm data centre (Poyle Road) | 3366043 | GOV.UK | 72 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Approved; application linked. |
| ○ outstanding | Pure DC Brent Cross (LON01, Building 2) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 70 MW · IT equipment only | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (existing campus) | — | — | 63 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ○ outstanding | Pure DC / SEGRO Premier Park (Park Royal) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 56 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | Vantage London I (LHR1, PowerGate) | — | — | 55 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Global Switch London East | — | — | 45 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | GTR GB One (Slough) | — | — | 40.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ○ outstanding | Global Switch London South | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 40 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ○ outstanding | Kao Data KLON-04 (Harlow) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 36 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ○ outstanding | Telehouse West Two (Docklands) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 33 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON19 (Slough) | — | — | 32.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT London 1 (Dagenham) | — | — | 32 MW · first stage only | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ○ outstanding | Equinix LD14 (Slough) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 30 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON7 (Stockley Park) | — | — | 28 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Iron Mountain LON-2 (Slough) | — | — | 27 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON4 (Slough) | — | — | 27 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD5 (Slough) | — | — | 25 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ○ outstanding | Iron Mountain LON-3 (Slough) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 25 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON5 (Stockley Park) | — | — | 24 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON9 (Slough) | — | — | 24 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON14 (Stockley Park) | — | — | 22 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON12 (Slough) | — | — | 21 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT Hemel Hempstead 3 (HH3) | — | — | 20 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Pure DC Brent Cross (LON01, Building 1) | — | — | 20 MW · IT equipment only | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Vantage London II (LHR2, Park Royal) | — | — | 20 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | CyrusOne LON4 (Slough) | — | — | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | CyrusOne LON5 (Slough) | — | — | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty LGW15 (Crawley Unit 1) (beyond M25) | — | — | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Global Switch London North | — | — | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Telehouse South (Blackwall Yard) | — | — | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON8 (Stockley Park) | — | — | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ○ outstanding | Kao Data KLON-03 (Harlow) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | 17.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty LGW16 (Crawley Unit 2) (beyond M25) | — | — | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD4 (Slough) | — | — | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD6 (Slough) | — | — | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Telehouse North Two (Docklands) | — | — | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON6 (Stockley Park) | — | — | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | CyrusOne LON2 (West Drayton) | — | — | 13.9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON11 (Slough) | — | — | 13 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT Hemel Hempstead 4 (HH4) | — | — | 12 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Serverfarm LON1 (Feltham) | — | — | 11.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON2 (Hayes) | — | — | 11.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | CyrusOne LON3 (Slough) | — | — | 9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD10 (Slough) | — | — | 9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD13x (Slough) | — | — | 9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Kao Data KLON-01 (Harlow) | — | — | 8.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Kao Data KLON-02 (Harlow) | — | — | 8.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | CyrusOne LON1 (Slough) | — | — | 8.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Iron Mountain LON-1 (Slough) | — | — | 8.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty LON1 (Hanbury Street) | — | — | 8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON3 (Slough) | — | — | 7.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON10 (Slough) | — | — | 6.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT Hemel Hempstead 2 (HH2) | — | — | 6.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | VIRTUS LONDON1 (Enfield) | — | — | 4.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Truman Brewery data centre (Grey Eagle Street) | PA/24/01450 | GOV.UK | 4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Approved; application linked. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT Slough 3 (SL3) | — | — | 2.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty Oliver's Yard (LHR18) | — | — | 2.3 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT Hemel Hempstead 1 (HH1) | — | — | 2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | NTT Slough 2 (SL2) | — | — | 1.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Pulsant Croydon LN-1 | — | — | 1.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Netwise London Central (Bermondsey) | — | — | 0.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Decommissioned; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. |
| ✓ sourced | Bidder Street data centre (Canning Town) | 24/00088/FUL | GOV.UK | Not disclosed | In planning; application linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | CyrusOne LON7 / Honey Monster site (Southall) | 253874FUL | GOV.UK | Not disclosed | In planning; application linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty Docklands (Harbour Exchange) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty LGW14 (Woking) (beyond M25) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Digital Realty Slough campus | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD11x (Slough) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD7 (Slough) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD8 (Harbour Exchange) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Equinix LD9 (Powergate) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ○ outstanding | Equinix Wexham Road (former AkzoNobel paint factory) | P/00072/152 | Reference only; no lasting URL | Not disclosed | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Google Waltham Cross data centre | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Greystoke Woodlands Park data centre (Iver) | 3347353 | GOV.UK | Not disclosed | Approved; application linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ○ outstanding | Microsoft Park Royal data centre | — | No lasting portal URL yet | Not disclosed | Reported under construction; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ○ outstanding | SEGRO Iver (Thorney Business Park) | — | No lasting portal URL yet | Not disclosed | Reported consented; held at proposed until a lasting portal URL is linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Telehouse East (Docklands) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Telehouse North (Docklands) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Telehouse West (Docklands) | — | — | Not disclosed | Operating; evidenced by an operator or third-party source. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
| ✓ sourced | Thurrock data centre (Arena Essex) | 25/00573/OUT | GOV.UK | Not disclosed | In planning; application linked. Megawatts not yet extracted. |
Not yet on the map
- Remaining Slough Trading Estate halls (further Equinix / Virtus buildings as separate pins; Iron Mountain LON-1/2/3 are now mapped).
- Stack Infrastructure and EdgeConneX London campuses, and Colt Welwyn Garden City (Colt Hayes is now mapped).
-
Decommissioned or closed halls (the
decommissionedstatus is ready in the schema). - Existing smaller rented server halls and city hosting rooms (often no public megawatt figure).
Outstanding before we treat figures as fully checked
- Save an archived copy of every source link when we add it.
- Find lasting council planning pages for Yondr, Pure Premier Park, Ada Docklands, and Truman Grey Eagle, then update statuses where that allows.
- Cite exact pages inside planning PDFs and SoS inspector reports.
- Check map pins against the official site-boundary drawings in each application.
- Confirm DESNZ local-authority electricity totals against the latest stacked CSV.
Sample information requests
Copy, personalise, and send via each body’s published channel. These are starting points, not legal advice.
Newham · Ada Docklands deep-link
[Your name] [Date] Information Governance London Borough of Newham [published FOI/EIR email or portal] Dear Sir/Madam, Freedom of Information Act 2000 / Environmental Information Regulations 2004 I request information about planning application 24/02660/REM and any related hybrid / outline applications for the Ada Infrastructure Docklands data centre campus (former Allnex / paint factory site, West Silvertown). Please provide: 1. The lasting public URL (or Idox system keyVal) that opens each related application’s live case page on Public Access, not only a search form. 2. Decision notices and committee reports for the hybrid consent and reserved matters, with titles and dates. 3. Any Environmental Statement chapters or energy statements that state megawatt capacity, grid connection size, water demand, or cooling method. I am happy to receive the response electronically. If the cost limit applies, please advise how to refine the request. This is for a public-interest project assembling sourced environmental figures for regional data centre proposals (The London Compute Ring). Yours faithfully, [Name] [Email]
Thames Water · water capacity and zero-water claims
[Your name] [Date] Thames Water [published EIR address] Dear Sir/Madam, Environmental Information Regulations 2004: request for information I am requesting environmental information about water supply and wastewater impacts of proposed and consented data centre developments in Greater London and the M25 fringe. Please treat this as a request under the Environmental Information Regulations 2004. For the period 1 January 2020 to the date of your response, please provide: 1. Any assessments, capacity studies, network constraint notes, or correspondence assessing the impact on public water supply or sewerage/wastewater capacity of data centre developments at or near: a) Manor Farm / Poyle Road, Slough (appeal ref 3366043); b) Yondr campus, Slough; c) Premier Park / Park Royal (Pure DC / SEGRO); d) Ada Docklands / West Silvertown, Newham; e) Bidder Street, Canning Town (24/00088/FUL); f) Grey Eagle Street / Truman Brewery, Tower Hamlets (PA/24/01450). 2. For each of the above where held: stated or estimated annual or peak water demand, whether supply is potable / non-potable / private, and any discharge consent volumes or temperatures relevant to cooling. 3. Any documents in which an operator claimed “zero water use”, “eliminates water usage”, or closed-loop / no potable offtake for a data centre in your area, and Thames Water’s recorded view on that claim. I am happy to receive information electronically. If any part exceeds the cost limit or engages an exception, please advise what can be disclosed within the limit. This information is sought for a public-interest project assembling sourced environmental figures for data centre proposals in the region (The London Compute Ring). I do not seek personal data of individuals. Yours faithfully, [Name] [Email]
Full research log also lives in the repo as RESEARCH.md for contributors.