Sites / Ada Infrastructure Docklands campus
Ada Infrastructure Docklands campus
Ada Infrastructure (GLP Capital Partners) · proposed (reported under construction) · London Borough of Newham
210 MW campus (three 70 MW halls plus multi-function building) on the former Allnex paint factory site, West Silvertown / Royal Docks. Newham approval and reserved-matters progress reported 2024–2025; groundbreaking reported February 2026. Listed as proposed until a lasting Newham Public Access case URL (not only a reference number) is linked.
Stated size
210 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Ada Infrastructure: 210 MW Docklands campus
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
ex-industrial / brownfield
What was here: Former Allnex / paint factory, West Silvertown (vacant)
Water
Zero
litres/year · operator claim Operator
Ada Infrastructure (GLP Capital Partners) claims cooling eliminates water use. That is their claim, not a metered reading.
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
70,000 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
70,000 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 210 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
272,533-476,933 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
272,533-476,933 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 210 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 1.3-2.2× Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 1.3-2.2× Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
736-1,288 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 210 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Water: Operator claims zero water use (closed-loop cooling; not independently verified)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
- Recorded as 0 litres/year because the operator claims water use is eliminated.
- This is a stated claim, not a metered figure.
Cooling
Air and liquid cooling without water evaporation; district-heat interconnection provisions stated Operator
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2024-06: Resolution to grant / approval for Docklands campus reported (Newham Strategic Development Committee)
- 2024-12: Reserved matters / detailed permissions progress reported; RMA 24/02660/REM cited for multi-function building
- 2026-02-26: Groundbreaking reported for first 70 MW building
Sources
- Ada: 210 MW Docklands approval · archive
- Ada Docklands project site · archive
- Royal Docks: campus update (cites 24/02660/REM) · archive
Planning application reference on record: 24/02660/REM. Link to the live council page not yet verified.
Map point: longitude 0.01725, latitude 51.50328. Last reviewed 2026-07-20.