The London Compute Ring: a map of data centre sites across Greater London and the M25 fringe
AI and cloud leave a physical footprint: power, land, and water. This map plots the data centres across Greater London and the M25 fringe, and puts those figures where communities can see them.
≈980 MW operating · ≈2,030 MW building, consented or proposed
Show areas
Tap an area to hide it.
5 of 5 areas shown
Jump to
How to read the circles
Colour = planning status
- Proposed
- In planning
- Approved
- Building
- Operating
- Decommissioned
Outline = size disclosed
- Solid fill: megawatts published
- Dashed: megawatts not disclosed (sized by site area, or location only if area unknown)
Grey demos above are style only, not a status colour. Numbered dark circles group nearby sites: click to frame the next split of that group.
Size = stated megawatts when known
Regional footprint
87 sites · ≥3,010 megawatts disclosed · 854 acres of land take · 18 with power not disclosed · 3 campus dossiers folded into their halls (not pinned or summed, to avoid double-counting) · 1 closed (shown on the map, not in totals) . The “at least” symbol (≥) marks incomplete disclosure. Megawatts are stated size on paper (nameplate/contracted), not day-to-day regional electricity use. Site figures last reviewed between 2026-07-20 and 2026-10-05.
How you might use this
Three ways in. Each link goes to a tool already on the site.
Journalists
Check a scheme behind a story: every figure is sourced or blank, with the planning reference and objection window.
Residents
See what’s proposed or running near you, and how to have your say.
Researchers
Open, sourced data. Download the GeoJSON and read how figures are chosen.
Context
Power, water, jobs, noise, and land, and how London compares with the US build-out.
A sourced explainer of the pressures these sites put on grids and communities, with mitigations already appearing in London dossiers. Benefits sit next to costs.
| Site | Status | Stated size | Site area |
|---|---|---|---|
| Manor Farm data centre (Poyle Road) | approved | 72 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 20 acres · farmland |
| Yondr London campus (Slough) | operating | 100 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · brownfield |
| Pure DC / SEGRO Premier Park (Park Royal) | proposed (reported consented) | 56 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 10 acres · industrial |
| Ada Infrastructure Docklands campus | proposed (reported under construction) | 210 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · brownfield |
| Bidder Street data centre (Canning Town) | in planning | Not disclosed | Unknown · brownfield |
| Truman Brewery data centre (Grey Eagle Street) | approved | 4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · brownfield |
| VIRTUS LONDON4 (Slough) | operating | 27 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CyrusOne LON1 (Slough) | operating | 8.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| NTT London 1 (Dagenham) | operating | 32 MW · first stage only | Unknown · industrial |
| Global Switch London East | operating | 45 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Global Switch London North | operating | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Vantage London II (LHR2, Park Royal) | operating | 20 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Digital Realty Slough campus | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Telehouse North Two (Docklands) | operating | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON5 (Stockley Park) | operating | 24 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Vantage London I (LHR1, PowerGate) | operating | 55 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 5 acres · industrial |
| Iron Mountain LON-1 (Slough) | operating | 8.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Iron Mountain LON-2 (Slough) | operating | 27 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Iron Mountain LON-3 (Slough) | proposed (reported under construction) | 25 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON3 (Slough) | operating | 7.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON9 (Slough) | operating | 24 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON10 (Slough) | operating | 6.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON11 (Slough) | operating | 13 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON12 (Slough) | operating | 21 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON19 (Slough) | operating | 32.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON2 (Hayes) | operating | 11.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON1 (Enfield) | operating | 4.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON6 (Stockley Park) | operating | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON7 (Stockley Park) | operating | 28 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON8 (Stockley Park) | operating | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| NTT Slough 2 (SL2) | operating | 1.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD8 (Harbour Exchange) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD9 (Powergate) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Telehouse West (Docklands) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Telehouse West Two (Docklands) | proposed (reported under construction) | 33 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Telehouse South (Blackwall Yard) | operating | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Serverfarm LON1 (Feltham) | operating | 11.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Digital Realty Docklands (Harbour Exchange) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Abbots Langley data centre (Bedmond Road) | approved | 96 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 77 acres · farmland |
| NTT Hemel Hempstead 1 (HH1) | operating | 2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| NTT Hemel Hempstead 2 (HH2) | operating | 6.2 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| NTT Hemel Hempstead 3 (HH3) | operating | 20 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| NTT Hemel Hempstead 4 (HH4) | operating | 12 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Ark Elstree campus (former Mercure Hotel) | proposed | 200 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · brownfield |
| Pulsant Croydon LN-1 | operating | 1.4 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Thurrock data centre (Arena Essex) | in planning | Not disclosed | 128 acres · brownfield |
| Digital Realty Oliver's Yard (LHR18) | operating | 2.3 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CorScale Iver (Court Lane) | approved | 103 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 14 acres · brownfield |
| CyrusOne LON6 (Iver Heath) | proposed (reported consented) | 90 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| SEGRO Iver (Thorney Business Park) | proposed (reported consented) | Not disclosed | 20 acres · brownfield |
| Digital Realty LGW15 (Crawley Unit 1) | operating | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Digital Realty LGW16 (Crawley Unit 2) | operating | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD4 (Slough) | operating | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD5 (Slough) | operating | 25 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD6 (Slough) | operating | 16 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| GTR GB One (Slough) | operating | 40.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Digital Realty LON1 (Hanbury Street) | operating | 8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CyrusOne LON2 (West Drayton) | operating | 13.9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CyrusOne LON3 (Slough) | operating | 9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CyrusOne LON4 (Slough) | operating | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CyrusOne LON5 (Slough) | operating | 18 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| VIRTUS LONDON14 (Stockley Park) | operating | 22 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD7 (Slough) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD10 (Slough) | operating | 9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD13x (Slough) | operating | 9 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Telehouse East (Docklands) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| NTT Slough 3 (SL3) | operating | 2.7 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Kao Data KLON-01 (Harlow) | operating | 8.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Kao Data KLON-02 (Harlow) | operating | 8.8 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Kao Data KLON-03 (Harlow) | proposed (reported under construction) | 17.6 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Kao Data KLON-04 (Harlow) | proposed | 36 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Digital Realty LGW14 (Woking) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Google Waltham Cross data centre | operating | Not disclosed | 33 acres · farmland |
| Equinix Hertfordshire Campus (South Mimms) | proposed (reported consented) | 250 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 85 acres · farmland |
| Digital Reef 'London Data Freeport' (East Havering) | proposed | 600 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 432 acres · farmland |
| Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (existing campus) | operating | 63 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (expansion) | proposed (reported consented) | 97 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Microsoft Park Royal data centre | proposed (reported under construction) | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Netwise London Central (Bermondsey) | decommissioned | 0.5 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| Global Switch London South | proposed (reported consented) | 40 MW · biggest size stated for this site | Unknown · industrial |
| CyrusOne LON7 / Honey Monster site (Southall) | in planning | Not disclosed | 17 acres · brownfield |
| Equinix Wexham Road (former AkzoNobel paint factory) | proposed (reported consented) | Not disclosed | 12 acres · brownfield |
| Pure DC Brent Cross (LON01, Building 1) | operating | 20 MW · IT equipment only | Unknown · brownfield |
| Pure DC Brent Cross (LON01, Building 2) | proposed (reported under construction) | 70 MW · IT equipment only | Unknown · brownfield |
| Greystoke Woodlands Park data centre (Iver) | approved | Not disclosed | Unknown · brownfield |
| Telehouse North (Docklands) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD11x (Slough) | operating | Not disclosed | Unknown · industrial |
| Equinix LD14 (Slough) | proposed (reported under construction) | 30 MW · biggest size stated for this site | 2 acres · industrial |
Full sortable table Compare view Context Research log Methodology