Sites / Digital Realty LGW15 (Crawley Unit 1)
Digital Realty LGW15 (Crawley Unit 1)
Digital Realty · operating · Crawley Borough Council beyond M25
Digital Realty Crawley Unit 1 (LGW15) on the Manor Royal estate, between Crawley and Gatwick — the main scale colo campus on the south M23 fringe. Directory listings cite about 18 MW. Campus has a large 132 kV / 72 MVA power position shared with Unit 2. Mapped as operating from operator or third-party records; no council planning-application URL is linked.
Stated size
18 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Digital Realty LGW15: about 18 MW (directory)
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
active industrial
What was here: Manor Royal industrial / business park
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
6,000 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
6,000 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 18 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
23,360-40,880 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
23,360-40,880 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 18 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 11-19% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 11-19% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
63-110 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 18 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Sources
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude -0.17616, latitude 51.12743. Last reviewed 2026-07-20.