Sites / Truman Brewery data centre (Grey Eagle Street)
Truman Brewery data centre (Grey Eagle Street)
Truman Estates / Grow Places (reported) · approved · London Borough of Tower Hamlets
About 5,200 m² Use Class B8 data centre at Grey Eagle Street / Calvin Street within the Truman Brewery complex, Brick Lane. Tower Hamlets refused / would have refused at committee; the appeals were recovered for the Secretary of State, who allowed them on 29 July 2026 (Minister Matthew Pennycook on behalf of the SoS), granting planning permission. Press cites about 4–5.2 MW peak. Local opposition gathered 3,600+ signatures.
Stated size
4 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Press reporting of Grow Places / Truman scheme power need (about 4 MW); some reporting cites about 5.2 MW peak
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
ex-industrial / brownfield
What was here: Derelict brewery storage buildings, Brick Lane Conservation Area
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
1,333 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
1,333 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 4 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
5,191-9,084 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
5,191-9,084 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 4 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 2-4% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 2-4% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
14-25 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 4 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2024-08: PA/24/01450 validated (Grey Eagle Street data centre)
- 2025-07-31: Strategic Development Committee: would have refused if determining (non-determination appeal)
- 2025-10: Secretary of State call-in of Truman Brewery appeals reported
- 2026-07-29: Secretary of State allows recovered appeals (Truman Brewery sites, incl. Grey Eagle Street B8 data centre PA/24/01450)
Controversies / contested procedure
Large local opposition and petitions; conflict framed as housing need vs data centre / estate redevelopment in Banglatown / Brick Lane
Source · campaign source
Sources
- Tower Hamlets committee pack (PA/24/01450)
- Appeal decision 3367041/3367172/3367179/3367369: combined DL + Inspector's Report (PDF) · archive
- East End Review: Save Brick Lane · archive
- GOV.UK: recovered appeal decision (Truman Brewery, 29 July 2026)
- DCD: UK government approves 5.2 MW Truman Brewery data centre
Planning application PA/24/01450: live portal
Map point: longitude -0.073, latitude 51.52. Last reviewed 2026-08-07.