Sites / Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (expansion)
Colt DCS Hayes Digital Park (expansion)
Colt Data Centre Services · proposed (reported consented) · London Borough of Hillingdon
£2.5bn expansion of Colt DCS's Hayes campus approved by Hillingdon: three new hyperscale data centres plus an Innovation Hub, adding about 97 MW of IT power and taking the campus to about 160 MW. Construction expected to start mid-2026 with the first building (London 6) live early 2029. The existing campus (about 63 MW) is mapped separately as operating. Held at proposed until a lasting Hillingdon Public Access URL is linked.
Stated size
97 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Colt DCS: the expansion will add an additional 97MW to the available IT power at the Hayes Digital Park
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
active industrial
What was here: Hayes industrial / existing Colt data-centre campus
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
32,333 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
32,333 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 97 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
125,884-220,298 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
125,884-220,298 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 97 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 0.6-1.0× Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 0.6-1.0× Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
340-595 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 97 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-11: Hillingdon approves £2.5bn expansion (+97 MW, three hyperscale DCs + Innovation Hub)
Sources
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude -0.421, latitude 51.508. Last reviewed 2026-10-05.