Sites / Global Switch London South
Global Switch London South
Global Switch · proposed (reported consented) · London Borough of Tower Hamlets
Third Global Switch data centre on the Docklands campus. Operator reports full planning approval; it will deliver about 40 MW of IT power across roughly 27,000 m². Held at proposed until a lasting Tower Hamlets Public Access URL is linked; location pin is approximate.
Stated size
40 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Global Switch: London South ~40 MW IT (full planning approval reported)
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
active industrial
What was here: Docklands data-centre campus
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
13,333 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
13,333 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 40 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
51,911-90,844 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
51,911-90,844 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 40 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 24-42% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 24-42% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
140-245 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 40 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025: Global Switch reports full planning approval for its third London data centre (London South)
Sources
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude -0.0055, latitude 51.51066. Last reviewed 2026-07-25.