Sites / Greystoke Woodlands Park data centre (Iver)
Greystoke Woodlands Park data centre (Iver)
Greystoke Land / Altrad UK · approved · Buckinghamshire Council
Up to 72,000 m² (GEA) Use Class B8 data centre across two buildings on the former Woodlands Park landfill, land south of Slough Road, Iver, in the Green Belt near M25 J1 (application PL/24/0754/OA). The Secretary of State (Minister Matthew Pennycook) allowed the recovered appeal APP/N0410/W/24/3347353 on 9 July 2025, overturning Buckinghamshire Council's refusal; an earlier ~147 MW three-building scheme was dismissed at appeal in October 2023. The consent is under judicial review by Foxglove and Global Action Plan; in 2026 the Government conceded a “serious logical error” in screening out EIA while failing to secure the relied-on mitigation, and the permission is expected to be quashed. Distinct from CyrusOne LON6 (Iver Heath, Seven Hills Road). The decision letter gives no megawatt figure for this scheme (its only “90MW” refers to Court Lane's IT load); campaigners put it at about 90 MW, so no figure is counted here. Consent contested: shown as approved until the permission is formally quashed.
Stated size
Not disclosed
No megawatt figure in materials reviewed
Operators often omit a megawatt figure. Map circles then use site area instead. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
Unknown
ex-industrial / brownfield
What was here: Former Woodlands Park landfill site (Green Belt)
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): not disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2023-10: Earlier ~147 MW three-building scheme dismissed at appeal by the previous Secretary of State
- 2024-10-24: Appeal recovered for the Secretary of State's determination (s79 TCPA 1990)
- 2025-07-09: Secretary of State allows recovered appeal 3347353; permission granted (up to 72,000 m²)
- 2025-08: Foxglove and Global Action Plan launch judicial review of the grant
- 2026: Government concedes JR, admitting a “serious logical error” on EIA screening; permission expected to be quashed
Controversies / contested procedure
Green Belt hyperscale data centre on a former landfill; consent under judicial review by Foxglove and Global Action Plan. Government has conceded a “serious logical error” in screening out EIA, and the permission is expected to be quashed.
Sources
- SoS recovered appeal decision 3347353 (9 July 2025, Slough-hosted copy)
- DCD: permission likely to be quashed after Government admits “serious logical error”
- Leigh Day: Government admits serious error over data centre permission
Planning application 3347353: live portal
Map point: longitude -0.5135, latitude 51.5345. Last reviewed 2026-10-05.