Sites / Manor Farm data centre (Poyle Road)
Manor Farm data centre (Poyle Road)
Manor Farm Propco / Tritax Big Box affiliate · approved · Slough Borough Council
Data centre and battery storage on Manor Farm / land north of Wraysbury Reservoir, Poyle Road, on the Slough–Heathrow fringe within Slough's data-centre Availability Zone. Secretary of State allowed the recovered appeal on 10 June 2026. The consented scheme is a data centre with an IT capacity of about 72 MW plus a separate 100 MW battery energy storage system, on an appeal site of about 8.16 hectares (~20.2 acres). Developer/acquisition materials describe a wider ~74-acre Manor Farm holding and up to ~147 MW; those are marketing/holding figures, not the consented data centre.
Stated size
72 MW
biggest size stated for this site Planning
Source: Appeal decision 3366043: consented data centre IT capacity ~72 MW (a separate 100 MW BESS is also consented) (IR/DL)
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
20 acres
farmland Planning
What was here: Part-greenfield / part-brownfield Manor Farm; open industrial storage on Phase 1 land (reported)
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
24,000 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
24,000 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 72 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · planning doc
-
93,440-163,520 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
93,440-163,520 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 72 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 44-76% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 44-76% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
252-442 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 72 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 11.5 football pitches
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Timeline
- 2025-01: Tritax Big Box acquires Manor Farm for data-centre development (up to 147 MW stated)
- 2026-06-10: Secretary of State allows recovered appeal 3366043 (data centre + BESS)
Controversies / contested procedure
Slough Council and objectors cited Green Belt / strategic gap between Slough and Greater London; need and alternatives disputed at inquiry
Sources
- GOV.UK: recovered appeal decision 3366043 · archive
- Appeal decision 3366043: combined DL + Inspector's Report (PDF)
- DCD: 147 MW Slough approval · archive
- BBC: Manor Farm go-ahead · archive
Planning application 3366043: live portal
Map point: longitude -0.512, latitude 51.468. Last reviewed 2026-07-25.