Sites / Kao Data Harlow campus
Kao Data Harlow campus
Kao Data · operating · Harlow District Council
Buildings on this campus (mapped and counted individually): Kao Data KLON-01 (Harlow) , Kao Data KLON-02 (Harlow) , Kao Data KLON-03 (Harlow) , Kao Data KLON-04 (Harlow)
Kao Data campus on London Road, Harlow (M11 corridor). Operator: KLON-01/02 at 8.8 MW each (operational), KLON-03 17.6 MW under development, KLON-04 36 MW planned; about 71 MW ITE when complete. This campus pin aggregates individually mapped halls; it is flagged role "aggregate" and excluded from the map, the regional total, and the sites/compare tables to avoid double-counting; the individual halls carry the capacity. Mapped as operating from operator or third-party records; no council planning-application URL is linked.
Stated size
71 MW
biggest size stated for this site Operator
Source: Kao Data Harlow: about 71 MW ITE load across four buildings when complete
The largest megawatt figure on the public record for this one site (planning docs or operator materials). It may include stages that are not built yet. Not everyday electricity use; the source sits with the number. Stated size is not electricity use.
Site area
15 acres
active industrial Operator
What was here: Harlow industrial / former research campus setting
Water
Not disclosed
No annual water figure in materials reviewed
Equivalences
No operator on this map discloses expected load factor (the share of peak power used on average), so yearly electricity figures are shown as a range, not as a known total.
-
23,667 kettles running at once
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
23,667 kettles running at once (at biggest size stated for this site; power size, not annual use)
- Nameplate 71 MW treated as continuous power for a power-to-power comparison only.
- One kettle = 3 kW.
Figure type: biggest size stated for this site · stated
-
92,142-161,249 homes' annual electricity
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
92,142-161,249 homes' annual electricity (at 40%-70% load factor)
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 71 MW.
- Assumed average load = nameplate × 40%-70%.
- Home use = 2700 kilowatt-hours/year.
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
-
Local geography (load-factor range): about 43-75% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against)
ⓘ Arithmetic and sources
At 40%-70% load factor: about 43-75% of Barking and Dagenham's annual electricity (the lowest-consumption local authority we compare against) (annual electricity)
249-435 gigawatt-hours per year assumed
- Uses biggest size stated for this site = 71 MW.
- Energy = MW × 8760 h × load factor / 1000 → GWh/year.
- Compared to Department for Energy Security and Net Zero local-authority total metered electricity (all sectors).
- No operator discloses load factor; this is a bound, not a measurement.
- Water: Water use: not disclosed
- Site area: 8.5 football pitches
Claims on record
None recorded yet.
Disclosure checklist
- Stated size (MW): disclosed
- Water: not disclosed
- Power usage effectiveness (PUE): not disclosed
- Energy source claim: none on record
- Load factor: not disclosed
Plain checklist, no aggregate score.
Right of reply
Right of reply: open; no response received. Email marco@prismaticlabs.ai. Subject is prefilled. Or see methodology.
Sources
No live planning application link recorded yet. We do not upgrade a site past “proposed” without one.
Map point: longitude 0.126, latitude 51.777. Last reviewed 2026-07-20.